What do your dreams mean?

I have always been fascinated with the idea of dreams and what they really mean. I find it interesting to know that they can reveal a lot about our unconscious and about who we are and what’s happening in our lives. For those of you who are interested in dream analysis, I recommend taking a log of your dreams for the next few nights and try to analyze what they mean because you can really learn a lot about yourself and how you really feel toward what is currently happening in your life.  I have recently done this and this is the dream I had:

It was Christmas break and I was back home in Hawaii. I went back to Buca di Beppo where I worked over the summer and I was starting work again. Everything in the hostess area was the same right down to the point of the red tomato tie that was worn around every hostess’ neck. I started introducing myself to all the new girl hosts that had joined after I left for school. Then, within a few minutes I was back in the position of running board and determining where everyone gets seated as they come in. It was like nothing had changed.

Then the next part of my dream consisted of me being at the beach…

I was at this place where my best friend Markus and a few other film students were. Markus told me that he had something serious on his leg that had to be biopsied and he was really concerned. I was comforting him while no one else really cared or thought anything of it. I was concerned for his well-being but I was happy to be ther for him. Then all of a sudden I was in this cabin area on the beach trying to help him organize everything.

 Then I woke up.

After thinking about this dream I came to different conclusions. For the first part or my dream, I think it revolved around the stress of making money and constantly working to be able to do the things I want to do. I will only be home for three weeks for Christmas break and I know that as soon as I return I am going to jump right into work, working 40 hours a week. From this dream I also felt the sense to feel accepted again when meeting all the new workers. I want to feel welcomed back as soon I get there.

The fact that I clearly saw the red tomato tie could be seen to symbolize the need for routine or the fact that I wish I didn’t have to get back into that routine when I return home. A few days before I had this dream, I do remember talking to my mom about when I return home and having to start back at work. This part of my dream is a reflection of my thoughts about returning home, and how I would really just like a break for a little bit.

For the second part of my dream, the location was the beach. This can show how I am missing home a little bit unconsciously and the fact that I don’t really have a calm place here yet where I feel I can relax. Back home I always had a place to go when things got stressful to just relax a bit and let go, but I have yet to find a place for that here at Chapman.

When it gets to the part of Markus, I believe it to reflect how I miss him because we don’t talk too much since he is back at home.  The part with me trying to comfort him reflects how I want to be there for him, to comfort him and how I feel that I am the only one who truly cares about him and his well being.

This part of the dream deals with more of the symbols and archetypes that Jung discusses about the unconscious. I believe the role of the persona comes into play in the part of my dream where I am showing how much I care for Markus and how I will support him. I am naturally a very caring person and so that is the role I feel I play in society, the caregiver. Even so, when it comes to organizing the room that I was in, this demonstrates how I like to have control over my life and how I have to hold onto something in order to feel in control when I feel like so much of life is out of my control.

In terms of the role of Markus coming into my dream, I am not sure exactly what his role may be except that I miss him and the role that he played in my life. He was always there for me and understood me better than anyone. Maybe it is reflecting how I don’t have anyone here in this new environment that can fill his role, and I am searching for that someone here at Chapman.

After I have analyzed the dream I had, there are many things that come to light. I think I need to try to focus on my relationship with Markus or to check in on him and see how things are.  I also feel that I should probably organize my room because it is a bit of a mess and it doesn’t help with me feeling like I don’t have much control in my life currently.

For those of you now interested in analyzing your dreams click here to get more information on how to go about doing so! Happy Dreaming!

2 thoughts on “What do your dreams mean?

  1. Mari,
    I really enjoyed reading your dream analysis. I really liked how you broke down each detail in your dream to get an understanding of it. Your reasoning for why you think you dreamt about all those things make complete sense. I have found myself in the same position dreaming about home quite often. Now after reading your analysis I agree that I am probably subconsciously homesick too. Overall I think the way you interpreted your dream was very insightful!

  2. I also really liked reading your dream and your interpretation of it. I definitely agree that your dreaming about your friend Markus says that you really miss him. I think it is partly crazy and partly quite helpful that dreams can remind someone of things like this, things that someone may be dealing with, without being consciously aware of it. I know that this is personal, but I wonder if after dreaming this, it will help you get back in touch with your friend. If so, this only demonstrates the power of our dreams and how they can have a healing affect in our lives.

Leave a Reply

